I’m Tired of the Lies!

I considered putting “I’m tired of the lies” as my status on Facebook one day. I smiled as I thought about the comments that might come and even more at the thoughts and assumptions it would generate! No worries, I am still madly in love with my husband, and my kids are making great choices–but I am still tired of the lies!

In my reading and teaching from the Book of Mormon for seminary, I discovered and Mormon points out the lies that Satan put into the hearts of the people. One example is in 3 Nephi 1:22- “And it came to pass that from this time forth there began to be lyings sent forth among the people, by Satan, to harden the hearts, to the intent that they might not believe in those signs and wonders which they had seen;” The people at this point had seen many signs, significant signs–like three days of light with no darkness type of signs, but Satan began to put lies in their minds so they would not believe what they actually saw. Incredible!

Our day is no different, and Satan is still sending us lies. The media sends messages about the role of women suggesting that if they are pure and wholesome they are somehow less than others, that being a wife and mother and believing in the family is mundane and oppressive. About the same time that we studied 3 Nephi 1 in seminary, one of my students shared in a seminary devotional about how she was doubting her ability to share the gospel. I was also struggling with feelings of inadequacy, especially about writing this blog. Who am I to write of the things to God or things of the family? I didn’t post anything for over six months because I just kept thinking how stupid this blog idea even is. Then it hit me, those are lies that Satan is sending. Of course he doesn’t want me to write this blog. It might actually influence or help someone. The terrible thing is I fell into his trap! On a day when I was feeling blah, while doing the dishes, I listened to D. Todd Christofferson’s conference talk from Oct 2013 entitled, “The Moral Force of Women.” He spoke of the power and influence women can have (the same applies equally to men.) As I was listening, I turned off the water, sat down and began this post. I refuse to continue believing the lies.

President Spencer W. Kimball said clear back in 1978, “To be a righteous woman during the winding up scenes on this earth, before the second coming of our Savior, is an especially noble calling. The righteous woman’s strength and influence today can be tenfold what it might be in more tranquil times”

be the lightChrist said, “let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16) It is not only good to do good things and let your influence be felt, but Christ himself commanded us to do just that. It is not to build ourselves up, but to glorify God as we lift others.

I love this quote by Marianne Williamson, “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

I believe the source of this fear she speaks of is not from God, but from the devil himself. As we recognize the lies for what they are, we can put them in their place–completely out of our lives–and be who we are meant to be.

So how can we figure out where to start and how we can be that influence for good? Time is working against us. We only have so much of it, and so we have to make decisions and set priorities. If we try to do everything, we will have little influence, so we must choose wisely. That is a very individual decision and I don’t think there is one right answer for everyone. Elder Christopherson said, “…of all our associations, it is your relationship with God, your Heavenly Father, who is the source of your mortal power, that you must always put first in your life…and do not be afraid to apply that influence without fear or apology.” As we seek the will of the Lord and go to our Heavenly Father in prayer to know our purpose and where we should put our focus now, we will get our answers, to be who we are meant to be!

Doctrine and Covenants 6 has some great wisdom, “Fear not to do good…let earth and hell combine against you, for if ye are built upon my rock, they cannot prevail…Look unto me in every thought; doubt not, fear not.”

As we trust God, fearing nothing, we can be the means of doing much good, which is what we are here to do. So, let’s quit believing those lies that tell us we are ordinary, that we can’t make a difference and stand up and let our light shine.

Originally written in 2014

 

Leave a comment